Risperdal (Risperidone) Lawsuit

Risperdal, which is manufactured by Janssen Pharmaceuticals, a division
of Johnson & Johnson, is another member of the family of drugs knows
as  Atypical Antipsychotics.

Risperdal has been linked to diabetes and, more specifically, Type 2
diabetes. (Type 2 diabetes is sometimes called adult-onset diabetes.
Type 2 diabetes is associated with an increased risk of heart disease
and stroke)

Other serious side effects, however, include Neuroleptic Malignant
Syndrome (NMS), Tardive Dyskinesia, stroke or stroke-like events,
and even death.  (NMS is a potentially fatal syndrome involving
muscle rigidity, and irregular blood pressure and pulse).

Tardive Dyskinesia is a central nervous system disorder, which results in
involuntary movement of the limbs and twitching of the face and tongue.)

Although it is primarily used for treating schizophrenia, Risperdal is also
used to control other behavioral disorders in elderly patients ( such as
nursing home patients) who have delusions, aggression, and anxiety
as is often seen in patients with Alzheimer’s disease and/or dementia.

Risperdal has also been under scrutiny for causing severe side effects and
adverse reactions mentioned above.

Although Risperdal was approved by the FDA in 1994, it took some time
before the dangerous side effects were completely identified though a
series of studies.

On April 11th of 2003 Johnson & Johnson sent “Dear Doctor” letters to
thousands of physicians in the United States advising them of the
possible risk of stroke among elderly patients taking Risperdal.

The letter indicated that Johnson and Johnson had modified the Risperdal
label so that practitioners were aware that:

” there was a significantly higher incidence of cerebrovascular adverse
events in patients treated with risperidone compared to patients treated
with placebo. RISPERDAL has not been shown to be safe or effective in the
treatment of patients with dementia-related psychosis ”
[ Click Here to
read the actual  Risperdal “Dear Practitioner letter” ].


This came after Johnson & Johnson had received 37 reports of stroke or
related events like blood clots or hemorrhages, including 16 deaths.

As a result of these findings, Johnson & Johnson updated the warning label
on Risperdal to include more specific information about strokes in the
elderly.  At this time it became apparent that Risperdal should not be used
to treat dementia because there is no evidence that it is safe or effective
in that capacity.

Risperdal has also been known to cause irregular headaches, muscle
weakness and spasms, high fever, constipation, weight gain, and
headaches.

People on Risperdal who have any or all of these side effects should
contact their doctor and discuss these problems with their doctor because
these conditions may be warning signs of serious illness.

SOURCE: http://www.coreynahman.com/atypical-antipsychotic-lawsuits.html

8 Responses to “Risperdal (Risperidone) Lawsuit”

  1. Danny Haszard Says:

    Glaxo whistle-blower gets $96 million.

    The case with the Zyprexa scandal is that Eli Lilly drug company pleaded guilty to criminal wrongs (“viva Zyprexa” campaign) the Zyprexa saga was rotten through and through.
    Eight Lilly EMPLOYEES got millions each as supposed informant ‘whistle blowers’.Lawyers on BOTH sides got millions and millions……most patient claimants who got sick are ‘mentally challenged’ and less able to advocate for themselves.
    The Class action Lawsuits in the US had payouts of $85,000 BUT the lawyers got 45 percent and then the govt got most of the rest for having to take care of the victim/patients medical expenses.Soooo,,,,$85K turned into about $9,000 for Zyprexa claimants many had their food stamps and other state benefits taken away because of their *windfall profit* making them worse off in the end.
    *
    Daniel Haszard Zyprexa victim activist and patient who got diabetes from it.

    • Leslie Leopard Says:

      I have the neurological condition they caused. I have untreatable Bipolar condition and Chronic pain. My father is a diabetic. I think this stuff is poison for some people. I would have rather have diabetes. I am almost 30 and suffering with pain and strange physical ailments that can not be explained by any physical condition. I got better off the medications but I have problems ongoing and My insurance is trying to not cover my medications and I can’t get a Psychiatrist or Neurologist to give me the time of day. I have had documented illness and labs for about 13 years now. I have been sick starting Jan. 2010. Atypical antipsychotics caused 50 pounds weight fluctuation. I gained and then I vomit and cant always keep food down in intermittent spells. Please someone tell me something.

  2. Juice Says:

    i was on risperidal / risperidone for 6 months, when i suddenly got a condition known as wrist drop; radial palsy. the doctors are refusing to acknowledge that this condition was caused by the risperidone, and still are recommending that this drug be taken to avoid psychological issues, which i take trifluoperazine and benztropine as well;apparently to stop twitches caused by the combination of the other two med’s. Currently my hand is in a useless state; which i believe was a result of this resperidal. Wanting to start a lawsuit. Having to live as a gimp now, with radial palsy, I’m only 26 and male…. This is unfair, I’ve lost my job, and become a disability collector, woo-hoo $1000 a month to live from, for something my doctors refuse to accept responsibility for, not only that, but they insist on continuing the prescription as if they have no idea about these dangerous side effects…. what a joke! my email is canadianjuice@hotmail.com if anyone wants to discuss this with me…

  3. Dorothy Grissom Says:

    I have a family member that was diagnosed with Tardive Dyskinesia 2 weeks ago. My family member had been prescribed Risperdal for 10 years. She also took Buspar and Zoloft. She falls all th time and she is disoriented and confused; along with several other medical problems. I am asking for help; I am trying to find an attorney to help us. Please let me know, if you can assist us. My email: dorothyg09@gmail.com

  4. eric dole Says:

    RISPERIDAL CONSTA MADE ME LOSE MY HAIR, GAVE ME TARDIVE DISKENISIA,LEFT ME AGGRESSIVE AFTER I DISCONTINUED USE, LEFT ME DEPRESSED ON AND AFTER DISCONTINUATION, TIRED, APATHETIC THAT I LOST MY POSSESSIONS AND 20 YEARS WORTH OF WORK, GAVE ME BREASTS (AND I’M A MALE), MADE ME THIRSTY, LEFT ME ANGRY, TOOK MY SEX DRIVE AWAY, MADE ME PARANOID, GAVE ME NIGHTMARES, pure poison, oh and i got a lung infection while on it.

  5. stacy Says:

    My daughter was 9 when they put her on risperidone as a sleeping med when she was almost 10 is when we discovered my almost 60 yr old uncle was perscribed the same med same dose and for schizophrenia we researched it and took her off but she has issues i believe r from the drug like not being able to tell if she dreamed something or if it really happened severe behavioral issues head aches stomach aches etc Some problems r getting better but not all and now shes be diagnosed with schizophrenia what can i do i cant prove this was do to the drug

  6. Anonymous Says:

    They need to pull this medication off of the market,

  7. Carol turner (@Carolturner122) Says:

    I have to wear diapers for the rest of my life because of this medicine. It ruined my life


Leave a comment