Dangers of Prochlorperazine for Morning Sickness and Chemo Patients

“It has come to my attention that one of the latest rages is to prescribe a drug called Prochlorperazine (marketed under the names Compazine, Buccastem, Stemetil and Phenotil) to pregnant women and chemo patients as a so-called treatment for morning sickness and nausea.

Don’t take that stuff! Prochlorperazine is just another phenothiazine. This class of drugs starting with Thorazine which was first sold in the US in 1954 as a “chemical lobotomy” by Smith Kline. Psychiatrists at the time couldn’t distinguish between people on Thorazine and people who had been lobotomized.

Phenothiazine: One of a group of tranquilizing drugs with antipsychotic actions thought to act by blocking dopaminergic transmission (messages sent using the substance dopamine) within the brain.

Examples of phenothiazines include: chlorpromazine (brand name: Thorazine), fluphenazine (Duraclon), mesoridazine (Serentil), perphenazine (Etrafon and Trilafon), prochlorperazine (Compazine), promazine (Robinul and Anectine), thioridazine (Seroquel), trifluoperazine (Stelazine) and triflupromazine (Robinul).

If you know it is being prescribed in your area, the word needs to get out not to take it. This is about the ultimate in psych drugs and classed as a “major tranquilizer.” It is the real, full on chemical straightjacket and is intended to and really does do brain damage, not just to the mother but to the unborn and nursing babies as well. It causes some of the worst of all psych drug side effects including involuntary movement disorders (major and permanent) and explosive rage and violence.

You would be vastly better off with an herb like ginger. You or a young mother might like the candied version of ginger found in the health food store.” http://www.thedietchannel.com/Fight-Chemo-Induced-Nausea-With-Ginger.htm

Dennis H. Clarke
Makaha Hawaii, USA

Thank you, Dennis, for this contribution!

This website may contain some copyrighted material. We reserve the right to reproduce such material under the Copyright Act, Title 17 US Code, Section 107, “Fair Use”, as we believe the public should be informed of such information so they can think for themselves rather than rely on advertisements. We gain no profit from such articles. http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap1.html#107

11 Responses to “Dangers of Prochlorperazine for Morning Sickness and Chemo Patients”

  1. Robin Says:

    not very helpful – if a doctor has just prescribed this to a mother with miserable morning sickness all this does is fear-monger. Any medical proof or evidence to back up the claims. I feel awful and you’re telling me I’ve just been given 50 doses to lobotimise my baby. thanks.

  2. Your Friend Says:

    Robin,

    Thank you for your comment.

    You can search online for all of the side effects. I just did a quick search and found many articles. You can go to the American Cancer website: http://www.cancer.org/docroot/CDG/content/CDG_prochlorperazine.asp and see the list of possible side effects warnings. Their first precaution is that it can cause you to become sleepy. If it makes you sleepy what is it doing to your unborn child? It is drugging it.

    The entire list of precautions is listed below:

    “Precautions
    Prochlorperazine may make you feel very sleepy. Do not drive or operate heavy machinery when you are drowsy.
    Be careful getting up, changing position, or walking. Start slowly and hold onto something or someone to hold you steady. Have a responsible adult with you until you know how the medicine will affect you and that you can take care of yourself.

    Prochlorperazine may cause unplanned movements called extrapyramidal effects. These include restlessness, tremors, sticking out the tongue, muscle tightness, and involuntary muscle contractions or spasms. Let your doctor or nurse know right away if this happens. These side effects can usually be stopped by other medicines such as diphenhydramine (Benadryl). In some cases, it may be necessary to stop the prochlorperazine.

    Call your doctor or nurse right away if you have restlessness, muscle stiffness, severe anxiety, slow jerky movements, tiredness, weakness, fever, confusion, trouble walking, or yellow eyes or skin.

    If you are scheduled for myelography studies (special x-rays of the space around the spinal cord), be sure your radiologist knows you are taking prochlorperazine. You will likely need to stop taking it 48 hours before the study and hold off starting back on it for at least 24 hours afterward.

    At higher doses over long periods, prochlorperazine can cause a movement problem called tardive dyskinesia. If you notice repeated instances of puffing out of cheeks, puckering of the mouth, grimacing, chewing movements, or sticking out the tongue, contact the doctor or nurse right away. Stopping the drug quickly may allow these problems to go away.

    Prochlorperazine may raise your risk of seizures if you have had them before.”

    They also list Side Effects:

    “Common

    dry mouth
    constipation
    sedation
    sleepiness

    Less common

    blurred vision
    restlessness
    involuntary muscle movements or spasms (extrapyramidal effects)*
    tremors*
    increased appetite
    weight gain
    low blood pressure when first sitting or standing up, with dizziness or fainting*
    increased heart rate
    changes in electrical activity of heart (EKG changes)

    Rare

    damage to liver (yellowing of the skin and the whites of the eyes) rash
    severe allergic reaction with itching, hives (skin welts), dizziness, trouble breathing or swallowing, swelling of the mouth, tongue, or face
    increased sensitivity to sunlight with higher risk of sunburn
    tardive dyskinesia (involuntary movements that may become permanent)*
    low white blood count with increased risk of infection

    *See the “Precautions” section for more detailed information.”

    If that is not enough you can always visit http://www.fda.gov and see the side effects for yourself. The FDA lists this drug as an antipsychotic and antiemtic (a drug that prevents or alleviates nausea and vomiting). See the following link: http://www.fda.gov/cder/da/ddpa796.htm.

    I do hope you consider this information for your safety and the health and well being of your baby.

  3. me Says:

    Please do not take this drug. It’s very dangerous. I went to an ER for vertigo and head pain and they injected this right into my IV line. I was immediately in a state of panic and moving uncontrollably. 5 days later I still cannot get to sleep and feel severe anxiety, even after taking the recommended benedryl. I pray every moment that my body will be able to repair itself from the damage done by COMPAZINE. Please always refuse this drug it is not worth it

    • Your Friend Says:

      Hi me,

      Thank you for your comment.

      Why wait for your body to repair itself, when there are experts who deal with this sort of thing with natural supplements? Check out Label me Sane and The Road Back Programs if you want a do-it-yourself approach.

      Your Friend

  4. Chandler Says:

    I was given this drug in Dec. 07 in the hospital via IV, and it took the doctors several days to figure out why I was having involuntary spasms, drooling, had labored breathing, could not speak or walk, or why I appeared to be paralyzed. Took them 4 days to figure out and reverse with Benadryl. My mom recorded every moment on tape. My doc now thinks I had a mini stroke during that time. I have brain damage, and have since had seizures. Before that, I never had them. Anyone know of any info on lawsuits against the manufacturer?

    • Vickie Says:

      I took this drug several years ago and now have torticollis. The doctors say I received it from a car accident I was in, but I think it all started with Compazine. I went to hospital with muscle spasms, locked jaw, couldn’t hardly walk due to muscles contracting. I thought I was dying once in the hospital they gave me Benadryl to counter act the Compazine. I believe it was coming on gradually but once I had the accident the trauma of it caused it to come on even faster. I have tried all kinds of muscle relaxers but they all give me different side effects so I opt out of taking them. I have had 8yrs of botox injections and they keep the pain at bay. There is no cure for it. I have applied for Disability and was denied. I have appealed the denial and have heard nothing back yet. They no little about this condition but they need to learn how it affects everyday life. The pain can be exhausting and to have head tremors most of the time is not fun at all. The metal affect it has is also daily depression can set in. Activities I used to be able to do I can no longer do them. I’m very conscious of myself now because my head tilts to one side. I have been looking for class action suits but have been unable to find any on Compazine. It maybe that we have to file a suit on our own against the drug Company.

  5. h Says:

    i need to find an attorney to help me file a lawsuit against compazine. i am no longer able to work because i developed a rare eye movement disorder because of this. nothing has helped. please if you can direct me to the right place i would appreciate it

    • rhonda cole Says:

      I too would like to file a lawsuit,maybe a class action suit against the makers of Compazine. Have you had any luck? I don’t even care about the money, I don’t want anyone else to experience what I have after taking this drug.

  6. D. Nelson Says:

    I have multiple sclerosis. I asked my mother the other day if she took medication during pregnancy with me. She took Compozine for 6 months for morning sickness. I was her first pregnancy and she never took it again with my siblings. Otherwise, I have had a healthy cancer free life. I did have a child with a rare heart defect requiring surgery in 1990. FYI

  7. CB Says:

    My daughter is 31 years old…born January 1982. Summer of ’81, I too, was given Compazine for morning sickness. I took one (1) dose in my first trimester…within 6 hours was rushed to ER for a seizure. My daughter has severe illnesses which do NOT run on my side or her father’s side the family…severe migraines since puberty, enlarged optical nerve, had temporary blindness, lots of joint ligament problems.

  8. Shontell Says:

    I am desperate for a class action suit. I went into the hospital at 13 weeks pregnant w extreme nausea and a migraine. I was told that my test showed I was dehydrated and malnourished. I explained that I had been very sick 24/7 since 6 weeks. All I was told was they’ll give me something for the nausea. And later they were putting it into my IV and saying I should feel better soon. Within 5-10 mins I felt like I was jumping out of my own body (if that makes any senses?!?) I couldn’t keep still I was losing it, panic just seems like an understatement. The nurse comes back and says that it’s a common side effect of compazine. Are you kidding me?!?! I would have wanted to be warned I would have most certainly chosen to stay sick. Within an hour they did an ultrasound and the baby looked like she was doing jumping jacks in my uterus. I continued suffering w anxiety thru the rest of the pregnancy which I never had before or since and my daughter has been diagnosed w autism by two different hospitals (second opinion) but the school feels she DOES NOT have autism. I truly believe that one dose of compazine GREATLY affected us both!!!!


Leave a Reply

