ADD and ADHD Drugs: Ritalin, Adderall, Concerta – Linked to Sudden Death – Seek Alternatives

2.5 million out of the 4 million U.S. children diagnosed with attention-deficit disorders are being treated with stimulant drugs. ADHD drugs like Ritalin, Adderall and Concerta supposedly help your child pay attention. Yes. I would imagine drugging your child into an obedient state might work to make them more manageable for both teacher and parent, but at what risk?

These drugs can increase blood pressure and heart rate and carry warnings about risks for sudden deaths in patients with heart problems. But do you know if your child has a heart problem? Well, that was the concern of American Heart Association. In April 2008 they suggested that your child have an EKG performed if they were going to take or were already taking an ADHD drug. Once parents heard about the warning the cardiologists were bombarded with phone calls demanding the test. Others feel the test is unnecessary. I wonder who the “others’ are? Could they be the drug manufacturers who stand to lose money? It is now a controversial issue whether the test is necessary due to costs. Due to all the confusion the American Heart Association issued a “little” statement clarifying that it is not mandate (not absolutely necessary) to have this test and that each doctor should use their own judgment. The Pediatrician’s Academy backed them up and will be published in the August edition of the Academy’s Medical Journal, Pediatrics.

Please do not get me started! Too late! The number one factor here is not whether your child should be getting an EKG or not. The real issue is whether your child should be on these drugs at all. If you look at the facts about these drugs there are none. There is no scientific evidence that any chemical imbalance exists in our brains. There is no test for such an imbalance. It is all made up.

If Johnny is not listening in school or at home drugging him is not the solution. If your child is not paying attention in school he might be bored because he does not understand something or he may not be challenged enough. Let’s take a look at an example: The teacher is explaining about the layers of rock and sand in our water bodies such as creeks. She explains that the sediment (sand and loose rock) goes to the bottom. Johnny is all confused because he heard his mother say once on the phone to someone to forward her sentiments. He had asked her what that meant and she said, “Oh, that just means I am sending my best wishes to someone because their grandmother died.” Johnny mixed up the word “sentiments” with “sediment”. It would be like sending a child to a foreign language speaking school. He tries to understand, but just cannot. He eventually gives up and acts out in other ways.

Overfilled class-sizes, economic disadvantages and “learning disorders” are common. Yet underlying all of this, there are three primary barriers that keep one from successfully studying a subject. Despite all that has been written on the subject of study, these three barriers were never isolated as having such importance in effective education.

“This is not attention deficit disorder, emotional problems, or stupidity at work. This is the emotional or physical reaction a student of any age will experience when encountering one of these barriers to learning.

Students fail to learn because no one has ever taught them how to learn — how to identify the barriers to learning and how to overcome them.

What are the three primary barriers to learning? The answer is found in Study Technology, central to which is the delineation of these barriers to study. Never before recognized, these yet constitute the primary reasons for educational failures.”

© 1996-2006 Applied Scholastics International. All Rights Reserved.

To find out what these three barriers are click here: http://www.appliedscholastics.org/learning_barriers/index.php Then click “First Barrier” “Second Barrier” and “Third Barrier” to your left.

Learn how to properly taper off psychiatric drugs safely: http://www.theroadback.org/workbook.htm.

This website may contain some copyrighted material. We reserve the right to reproduce such material under the Copyright Act, Title 17 US Code, Section 107, “Fair Use”, as we believe the public should be informed of such information so they can think for themselves rather than rely on advertisements. We gain no profit from such articles. http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap1.html#107

11 Responses to “ADD and ADHD Drugs: Ritalin, Adderall, Concerta – Linked to Sudden Death – Seek Alternatives”

  1. penny brock Says:

    GOOD FOR YOU. I AGREE WHOLE-HEARTEDLY WITH WHAT YOU ARE SAYING HERE. NOT ONLY ARE THESE DRUGS DANGEROUS TO OUR CHILDREN, BUT OUR CHILDREN ARE LEARNING HOW TO ABUSE THESE DRUGS AS THEY GET OLDER AS A MEANS TO “GET HIGH.” WE DRUG OUR CHILDREN TO CONTROL THEM, ALL THE WHILE GIVING THEM A MEANS TO ABUSE THESE DRUGS, THEREFORE, LOSING THE WAR AGAINST KIDS DYING FROM DRUGS MORE EVERYDAY. IT’S NOT ENOUGH THAT WE TOOK PRAYER OUT OF SCHOOLS YEARS AGO. NOW, WE ARE TURINING OUR CHILDREN FARTHER AND FARTHER AWAY FROM THE TRUTH AND TEACHING THEM NOTHING BUT LIES AND DRUGING THEM IN THE MEANTIME. SO SAD. THANK YOU FOR ALLOWING ME TO COMMENT.

  2. Your Friend Says:

    Penny,

    Great viewpoint! I believe our society has headed down a dwindling spiral that can only be undone by getting everyone off of these harmful drugs that produce such deadly side effects.

  3. Denise Says:

    Too bad you couldn’t come live with our family for just one week…..you seem to have alot of answers. I have 2 boys (14,15) with severe ADHD, one with severe short term memory problems as well and the other is bi-polar and contemplating suicide. I am done having fingers pointed at our family. You have no idea what you are talking about!

  4. Your Friend Says:

    Hi Denise,

    I am sorry about what you are going through, but before you judge the alternative treatments I suggest you check them out. I am not stating that your sons do not have any problems or are not causing you any problems. My goodness you are their mother and want the best for them. As a mother, I understand that completely. The links that I provide here are from people who deal with this sort of problem on a daily basis, and successfully, I might add.

    Your Friend

  5. Ehren Teeter Says:

    Hey ummm problem with your statements, I have ADHD and honestly I disagree with you full heartedly, I was in school and came out with a 3.8GPA so I can argue with what your saying. Email me and have a conversation. You will find I’m no ordinary ADHD child.

    • Your Friend Says:

      Hello, Ehren!

      Wow! This is great. You must be a very able individual to accomplish what you have in school. I bet you do great in other areas of life, as well. I am glad to hear that you were one of the lucky ones. Keep up the great work.

      Your Friend

  6. James Says:

    When I was 8 years old, living in the US, I was diagnosed with ADHD after long tests and numerous sessions with psychologists and family doctors. It was decided that I should be put on Ritalin which I took at regular intervals till about the age of ten. Throughout that time, I was a grade A student and at the top of my class. I was even in the GAIN program, class of gifted children. When I moved to Canada for a while, I was reassessed and they felt that I didn’t need medication and convinced my family to take me off the pill. From that point on till 12th grade, my average mark dropped to 55. My highest of all marks was a 77 which was in computers, and just so happens to be one of my interests or passions. I dropped out half way through grade 12. I had 23 credits out of 30, and only earned 12 compulsory. They had me convinced that I did not need stimulants of any kind and obviously, putting anything foreign into one’s body has it’s risks but you have to weigh those risks against the benefits. I not only had a problem academically, I also had a problem socially, particularly in holding together relationships. I even had a great deal of problems at work. Do you know what problem was? The capability of retaining what is said to me so that I can recall it later. I couldn’t remember dates, times, special moments, things that I should be able to recall, that should be important. No matter how hard I tried, I could not fully focus on what was said. I was in denial, I refused to admit that I had a problem, that the first doctor was wrong and everyone else was right. I am 28 years old and I have just recently vocalized issues with my family doctor about the I am having and explained to him about my history of ADHD. He had me put back on Ritalin. Since then, I have seen major improvements in my ability to hold a lengthy conversation, my ability to focus, and my ability to retain and recall what is said. I am now ADD and no longer ADHD. For those of you who do not understand what it is like to live with ADHD or ADD, the hardships of keeping up with your peers, establishing a relationship with both friends and lovers, I’d either get a better idea or leave it to the professionals to weigh the odds, after all, it is their duty and their responsibility to preserve life, not help take it or destroy it.

  7. Your Friend Says:

    Hi James,

    I am sorry that no one found a better solution for you than psychiatric drugs. Rather than pumping toxic drugs similar to speed into your body; I always suggest to seek alternatives. I have personally spoken to professionals regarding this subject and the answers are out there. When one cannot keep their attention on something often diet and life events could be the cause. Dealing with the past or present, or a change in diet may help.

  8. James Says:

    Hello Your friend,

    So you are saying that between the ages of 10 and 28, my diet and/or events in my life could be the cause? Though this may be true, it still does not explain the first 10 years. Regardless of what we all do in our lives, there are and will be mixed opinions no matter where you look or who you talk to. Just look at the legalization of marijuana for example. Some would argue that there are positive benefits where others would argue otherwise. You can’t win them all and ultimately, it should be the individual’s decision and not the decision of one’s hearsay. It’s hard to understand something when you aren’t experiencing it yourself.

  9. Your Friend Says:

    Hello James,

    Thank you for your reply.

    I am saying that at any time in your life an event can be triggered later on. I was a counselor for several years. I have seen it first hand. Diet can be a factor, too.

    I have also seen people with diagnosis like yours turn it all around without drugs. You are correct. Not everyone agrees in life. We must agree to disagree, then. And yes, it is everyone’s right to make their own choices.

    This site is about alternative treatments to psychiatric drugs. What brought you here?

  10. Elina Says:

    Before use any brain supplement please check if it contains natural ingredients or not.


Leave a Reply

